WIPLW (4/11/2016 – 4/17/2016)

Here’s what I played last week:

Tuesday:

Regular Game of Thrones meetup at Cool Stuff.

GoT LCG 2nd Ed. x6
A Game of Thrones the Card Game 2nd Edition2-4 Players • 30-60 Minutes

IMG_20160412_183235961_HDRDesigned by Nate French and Eric M. Lang

I had a lot of fun. Lost some, won some. All around a good time. One of the other players gave the inspiration for a Greyjoy Crossings deck, and that seems like a really cool idea, that I’m definitely gonna try.

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday:

Regular Wednesday Cool Stuff Meetup.

Star Wars: Rebellion
Star Wars: Rebellion2-4 Players • 180-240 Minutes

IMG_20160413_182540349Designed by Corey Konieczka

This was a pretty cool game. I didn’t know going in that it would be 4 hours, and that’s okay, I don’t have a problem with longer games, but it did feel a bit long (but it was a learning game, so that’s expected).

I played on the Rebel team, and we managed to pull out the win, despite my desire to play risky and just have fun with it. It could have ended very badly for us, but hey I’m a rebel, what can I say?

 

 

 

Eminent Domain
pic1160506_lg2-4 Players • 45 Minutes

Designed by Seth Jaffee

I hadn’t played this one in a long time, but I had fun. I went the produce/trade route, and it almost payed off, but I ended the game too early, and lost, but only by like 2 points. I had fun, though, it’s a good game.

I forgot to take a picture, sorry.

 

 

 

GoT LCG 2nd Ed. x3
A Game of Thrones the Card Game 2nd Edition2-4 Players • 30-60 Minutes

IMG_20160414_240004462_HDRDesigned by Nate French and Eric M. Lang

Got to play a few games of this, won two, lost one. I definitely need to change up the decks a bit in some ways, especially the Greyjoy deck. I don’t think I’m gonna keep it with the Crossings agenda. The Lannister deck needs to change completely, it’s too gimmicky, and situational. I think I might go for a Lannister Crossings, or an Ambush deck.

I continued to play the Martell Deck I net-decked, and I’m really liking some of the cards Martell has, especially Nymeria Sand and The Red Viper.

 

 

Friday:

Monthly church meetup. We had an okay turnout. A lot of people couldn’t make it, but we still had about 9 show up. No kids again, ha ha, which made it nice and quiet.

Boggle
Boggle1-8 Players • 10 Minutes

IMG_20160415_195024858Designed by Bill Cooke and Alan Turoff

With new players, it’s sometimes hard to find a game that works. Boggle is a classic, so we pulled it out, and I was a little surprised that everyone had a good time playing. I enjoy Boggle, but being as old and “classic” as it is, I just don’t expect it to click with a lot of more modern gamers.

Anyway, we had a good time.

 

Scattergories
Scattergories2-6 Players • 30 Minutes

IMG_20160415_213119363Designed by Hasbro

I hadn’t played this one in a while either. Still one of my favorite word games.  It went over okay with some in the group, some just weren’t feeling it, and that’s fine; it’s not for everyone.

“Juice of Cow” was the hilight of the game.

 

 

 

 

 

Jump Gate
pic8643852-6 Players • 45 Minutes

IMG_20160415_223112133Designed by Matt Worden

I didn’t know what to expect going into this one, but I was really happy we played. It has a feel similar to Tiny Epic Galaxies, only without the dice, and a set-collection, scoring mechanic, like Sushi Go!. Very fun little game, and I’m excited to play again.

 

 

 

 

Saturday:

Lost Legends
pic1550240_lg3-5 Players • 70 Minutes

IMG_20160416_233143730Designed by Mike Elliot

I didn’t go in expecting much, and to be honest, I just thought the game was just okay. I guess it just didn’t feel like anything I hadn’t seen before. I’d play again, but I’d have to be in the right mood.

I think one thing I didn’t like was that, even if I was fighting a monster I knew I couldn’t beat, I could just pass it off to an opponent and pick a new one, and even if I couldn’t, dying isn’t that big of a deal.

 

 

 

Blood Rage
Blood Rage2-4 Players • 60-90 Minutes

IMG_20160417_014356185Designed by Eric M. Lang

It had actually been a while since I played this last. But that didn’t stop me from pulling out the victory! We played with the Gods expansion.

One of the other players got salty after me and another player stole all his rage early in the first round. It went pretty great for me from there. Ha ha.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

