WIPLW (4/4/2016 – 4/10/2016)

Here’s what I played last week.

Tuesday:

Regular GoT meetup at Cool Stuff.

Got LCG 2nd Ed. x6
A Game of Thrones the Card Game 2nd Edition2-4 Players • 30-60 Minutes

Designed by Nate French and Eric M. Lang

I lost to Baratheon hard. That’s a ridiculously good/annoying deck. I think I want to build it now. Maybe a Tyrell/Baratheon deck, for icon control and kneeling and all that good stuff. Just a “you can’t attack me, and also, you have no icons!”

 

Wednesday:

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff.

Twilight Struggle
pic361592_lgIMG_20160406_182543241_HDR2 Players • 180 Minutes

Designed by Ananda Gupta and Jason Matthews

This was my first time playing, and I didn’t have a great grasp of the rules. I also understand that the game gets easier as you play more and start to know the cards.

All that being said, I enjoyed it. It’s quite an interesting game, but definitely a lot to take in the first time. I played US, and I predictably lost, but it was a cool game.

I would definitely play again.

 

 

 

 

 

Tigris & Euphretes
Tigris & Euphretes2-4 Players • 90 Minutes

IMG_20160406_195756246Designed by Reiner Knizia

Okay, so I’m pretty sure I hate this game, but I’m just not sure. Every time I’ve played it I’ve had a very loose grasp of the rules, and it always feels like I’m really far behind the whole game.

I don’t think I’m a fan of the scoring either. It just feels odd and counter-intuitive to me.

Despite all that, I think it’s a cool game. I mean I think, I really don’t know if it is or not.

 

 

Quartermaster General
Quartermaster General2-6 Players • 90 Minutes

Designed by Ian Brody

Well, the Axis got creamed badly. I played Japan, and unlike in any game I’ve played before, the UK and US just went straight to putting pressure on Japan. On top of this, the Land Battle card I desperately needed just never showed up.

It was a devastating 40-point lead that ultimately caused the Allies to win.

 

 

 

Sunday:

Played a few games. It was going okay, but one player kind of flipped the board. It was at the end of the game, but it was just really disrespectful. and that bummed me out.

Istanbul
Istanbul2-5 Players • 40-60 Minutes

Designed by Rüdiger Dorn

We did a random layout for the tiles. I felt one step ahead for half the game, and then one step behind the second half. I had a good time, though.

I want to try out the Green Number layout, and see how it is when the tiles are spread out, so the ones that work best together aren’t right next to each other.

I also want to try the variant where you play with a neutral assistant.

 

Russian Railroads
Russian Railroads2-4 Players • 90-120 Minutes

IMG_20160410_173333231_HDRDesigned by Helmut Ohley and Leonhard “Lonny” Orgler

This is one of my favorite games, but I felt like it wasn’t going to go well even before we started. One of the players was making comments while I was explaining the rules. I told them it was a complex game at the beginning and that there were a lot of rules, but it seemed like every time I explained a rule, they’d say “oh, there’s more?” or “lets’s just start” or something along those lines.

I will say that, it really annoys me when people want to start a game before they know how to play, or before I’ve finished explaining it.

The game ended with that same player flipping the board, which was just super disrespectful.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Miniatures, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

