WIPLW (2/8/2016 – 2/14/2016)

Here’s What I Played Last Week (WIPLW).

Monday:

Gaming with a friend during lunch at school.

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals
pic2514451_lg2 Players • 20 Minutes

IMG_20160208_123651680Designed by Christopher Hamm

I lost. I was going for a certain combo that I totally messed up. Oh well, it’s always a fun game. This time was no different.

I’m really excited for the next set, Shadows and Steam, because it adds all new Champions and locations, and it’ll be a blast to mix them up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday:

Gaming at school, then Cool Stuff later.

Adventure Time Card Wars
pic2453921_lg
2 Players • 30 Minutes

IMG_20160209_125832561Designed by Richard Brady/Cory Jones

This time, I actually got the deck’s Freeze powers off, which made it a much more fair fight. I still ended up losing, but that’s okay.

I really enjoy this game. It’s simple, but there’s combos and strategy and it’s just really fun! I’d like to try deckbuilding once I get a few more sets, but even without deckbuilding, I enjoy it a lot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After school, I met a few friends at Cool Stuff for some more gaming.

Robinson Crusoe: Adventures on the Cursed Island
pic14131541-4 Players • 90-180 Minutes

IMG_20160209_171114443Designed by Ignacy Trzewiczek

This was a pretty cool co-op game. I liked it a lot. Some aspects of it reminded me of Dead of Winter, but I liked it more than Dead of Winter. We ended up losing, but it was still a good time. I really like the worker-placement aspect to it.

I definitely want to play this one again, and I’m excited to see what they do with the new game coming out with the same system, but a space theme.

 

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game 2nd Edition
pic27833862-4 Players • 60-120 Minutes

IMG_20160209_184539067Designed by Nate French/Eric M. Lang

I was really excited to play this. I’ve been interested since they announced the 2nd edition. It was really cool. Really different from any other card game I’ve played. I love the system, it’s just different and new and refreshing.

I ended up winning, but it was really tense, because my opponent had a field full of characters, while I only had 3-4 on any given turn. But I managed to pull of the win.

I definitely want to play this again.

 

 

Viticulture
pic2649952_lg1-6 Players • 90-120 Minutes

IMG_20160209_202754013Designed by Morten Monrad Pederson/Jamey Stagmaier/Alan Stone

I was glad to get this to the table, because I hadn’t played in a while, and I’m glad I did. It’s a really good worker-placement game. Really simple mechanics, but the theme really comes through, and I love that about it.

 

 

 

Biblios
pic759154_lg2-4 Players • 30 Minutes

Designed by Steven Finn

I’ve been bringing Biblios with me lately, and it’s been going well. We often have 30 minutes left and Biblios fills that time well.

It’s a fantastic game, but I’m not great at it. I lost pretty bad this time, I think because I didn’t take enough book cards, and took too much gold. I also kept taking cards and then putting out better cards for my opponents.

 

 

 

Samurai
pic25719212-4 Players • 30-60 Minutes

IMG_20160209_213731045_HDRDesigned by Reiner Knizia

I’m glad I got t play this one again. I really enjoy it, but I don’t seem to get to play it that often. It’s strategic and abstract, but it doesn’t feel like chess (which is a good thing for me).

I haven’t played much with player counts above 2, but I really like it with 2.

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday:

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff

Eggs of Ostritch x3
pic17356633 Players • 10 Minutes

Designed by Shimpei Sato

IMG_20160210_171227481This game was surprisingly awesome! I mean I really loved it. It’s simple, and plays really quickly, but the decisions are important and the gameplay is really solid.

I wanted to get a copy for myself, but because it’s a Japanese import, it’s quite expensive. So I’m doing what any reasonable graphic designer would do…I’m designing my own version of the game.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bruges
pic16520042-4 Players • 60 Minutes

IMG_20160210_180615332Designed by Stefan Feld

I didn’t realize this was a Stefan Feld game until now, when I’m writing this. I really really enjoyed this game. It’s cool how the colors of the cards corresponds to the dice, and how the same actions can be taken but different depending on those colors.

Anyway, great game. I really liked this one and I’d love to own it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mysterium
pic2601683_lg2-7 Players • 45-60 Minutes

IMG_20160210_201146580Designed by Oleksandr Nevskiy, Oleg Sidorenka

This was a very interesting game. The ghost player is giving DiXit-style clues, which are used by the living players to figure out suspects, locations, and objects. I didn’t really know what to expect going in, but I enjoyed it.

I wouldn’t play all the time, but if someone asked me to, I probably would.

 

 

 

Biblios
pic759154_lg2-4 Players • 30 Minutes

Designed by Steve Finn

Played Biblios again today. It’s been a great end of the night filler, when we’ve got less than an hour before the store closes.

I really like Biblios, but I’m also quite bad at it.

I forgot to take a picture, but this game really isn’t very photogenic. I mean, you take a picture of the dice, or the cards, but there isn’t a board or anything to really look at.

 

 

Friday:

Game night at a friends house.

Monarch
pic2614165_lg2-4 Players • 30-50 Minutes

IMG_20160212_182518648Designed by Mary Flanagan, Zara Downs, Max Seidman

This game was very interesting. You’re trying to get money and food to hire people into your court, or improvements for the farms and villages (which benefit everyone). But you have to watch out for unwanted guests and things like that.

I thought I had the win, because I built up my court quickly to end the game, but another player got a bunch of doubling bonuses, which put him ahead.

The flavor on the cards is quite nice too.

Very cool game. I’d definitely play again.

Viticulture
pic2649952_lg1-6 Players • 30 Minutes per player

IMG_20160212_205801855Designed by Morten Monrad Pedersen, Jamey Stagmaier and Alan Stone

I won! Ha ha, I actually won. But what was really interesting about this game is that one of the players basically ignored making wine at all. She simply took the free victory point on the wake-up track every round, and built the windmill, to give tours and get victory points. And then she started selling fields to get more VP, and ocassionally played a visitor card or two that gave her VP. She came in second, only about 5 points behind me. And it was brilliant.

 

7 Wonders
pic860217_lg2-7 Players • 30 Minutes

Designed by Antoine Bauza

I am really slipping with this game lately. I used to win a lot, or at least come close, but the last few games I’ve played I came dead last. I think I need to change my focus. I usually go for Science, but it’s just not paying off lately. Time to jump on the war bandwagon, and just raise hell.

 

Vikings
pic1904581_lg2-4 Players • 60 Minutes

IMG_20160212_233455677IMG_20160213_241202869Designed by Michael Kiesling

I really really liked this game. It was so interesting and thinky and  I mean, I just really liked it. Managing your money and keeping attacks from ships at bay, while making sure you have the right types of land pieces and managing your boatswains. There’s a lot, but it’s still a pretty simple game.

I definitely want to play this one again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday:

Game Night at my house. Had some friends from Orlando visiting.

Keyflower
pic2278942_lg2-6 Players • 90-120 Minutes

IMG_20160213_172851277_HDRDesigned by Sebastian Bleasdale and Richard Breese

I was happy to get to play this one again. I like it a lot, but it’s a hard game. I realized in this game you really need to have a set strategy going in and not veer to far off from that strategy. I didn’t do terrible, but I didn’t do great either. I had fun though, this game is really cool.

 

 

 

Cosmic Encounter x2
pic1521633_lg3-5 Players • 60-120 Minutes

IMG_20160213_185452673_HDRDesigned by Bill Eberle, Jack Kittredge, Bill Norton, Peter Olotka, and Kevin Wilson

I hadn’t played this one in a long time and I really wanted to again. The first game was epic, ending with me convincing another player that we could negotiate for a shared victory. I lied and played an attack card, taking the win for myself! It was incredibly satisfying.

The second game was also good, but it seemed like everyone got weird, not great, but not terrible alien powers.

(I was Green)

 

The Game
pic24051671-5 Players • 20 Minutes

IMG_20160213_211508355_HDRDesigned by Steffen Benndorf

We won! We had exactly 10 cards at the end. And boy was it close. This one is starting to grow on me, and I’m finding it’s very important to work together and not just play cards you think will be good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No Thanks!
pic6990363-5 Players • 15 Minutes

IMG_20160213_234415398Designed by Thorsten Gimmler

Hadn’t played this one in a while. I am still not good at it. I lost, obviously, but I enjoy this one. It’s super simple.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sitting Ducks Gallery
pic256091_lg3-6 Players • 20 Minutes

IMG_20160214_240738818Designed by Keith Meyers

Now I really hadn’t played this one in a long time, I mean, probably at least a year. It was fun, a little too limiting in regards to what you can do on your turn, but not bad. A decent little game.

 

 

 

 

Ticket to Ride
pic386682-5 Players • 90 Minutes

IMG_20160214_020800471Designed by Alan R. Moon

Another game I hadn’t played in a while. I like Ticket to Ride, but it can feel a little annoying, because sometimes the cards you want just don’t show up, so you spend several turns drawing off the top of the deck, just hoping to get something. Or even worse, if you know that what you want is in the discard pile, you’re basically screwed until it gets reshuffled.

Not a bad game, I do enjoy it, but it does have its downsides.

We played with 4 players, but I forgot to take a picture until we started cleaning up. Oops!

 

Sunday:

Played one game before my friends had to go to a wedding they were in town for.

Tokaido
pic12937193-5 Players • 45 Minutes

Designed by Antoine Bauza

I haven’t gotten to play this one in a while. For whatever reason I just can’t seem to get it to the table very often, but I’m glad I did. I really like this game. It’s simple, but the decisions are important, and there’s lots of paths to victory. It’s just a really satisfying game, and while easy to play, hard to really do well.

I’m kickin’ myself because I didn’t take a picture.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Miniatures, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

