What I Played Last Week (2/1/2016 – 2/7/2016)

Wednesday (2/3/2016):

Strife, Adventure Time Card Wars, Batman Love Letter, Age of War, AquaSphere, Biblios

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals
pic2514451_lg2 Players • 20-45 Minutes

IMG_20160202_123946515Designed by Christopher Hamm

This is by far one of my favorite 2 player games. There’s so much combo potential, and having perfect knowledge of what my opponent can do makes it brilliantly strategic and thinky, which I like.

I also like how much is packed into such a small package. For $15, you really get a lot of game, lots of replayability, and lots of potential for improvement.

This was my friend’s first time playing, and he enjoyed it.

 

 

 

 

 

Later on was the regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff. We had a new attendee, someone who had never played modern board games before, so it was kind of interesting, but we made due.

Adventure Time Card Wars
pic2453921_lg2 Players • 15-30 Minutes

Designed by Richard Brady and Cory Jones

I really like this game, although I played Ice King and didn’t draw the cards I needed at all during the game. But it’s super simple to pick up and play.

I played Ice King, my opponent played Marceline.

This was my second time playing and my opponents first time. He enjoyed it too.

 

 

 

 

 

Love Letter: Batman
pic22907652-4 Players • 20-40 Minutes

Designed by Seiji Kanai

This was a good choice for a newcomer. A simple game, with simple mechanics. I dunno how much she enjoyed it, but I hope she had fun.

 

Age of War
pic1977202_md2-6 Players • 30 Minutes

Designed by Reiner Knizia

IMG_20160203_182600337I’ll be honest, I don’t really like this game. It feels a lot like Elder Sign, which means a lot of down time, but what I really don’t like is that a turn can feel incredibly unproductive.

I guess that comes with the territory of press-your-luck games, though. Another thing I dislike is that people can steal cards from you, which just slows down the game.

It should be a filler, but it feels like it takes a lot longer than a filler should.

 

 

AquaSphere
pic2197124_lg2-4 Players • 100 Minutes

IMG_20160203_194624774_HDRDesigned by Stefan Feld

I like this game, but it has a lot going on and it’s very tight and restricting. And somewhat punishing. As a result, it’s quite hit and miss, mostly miss, with players. It’s a brain-melter to say the least.

It was probably a miss this time, and I think I’m just gonna end up selling it, because even though I enjoy it, I’d rather have something on my shelf I can consistently get to the table.

 

 

 

 

 

Biblios
pic759154_lg2-4 Players • 30 Minutes

Designed by Steve Finn

IMG_20160203_214131888I enjoy Biblios, but I realized during this game that I’ve been playing slightly wrong. The auction pile is supposed to get shuffled before the auction starts. I always thought it wasn’t supposed to be shuffled, because it adds a bit of memory to the game, and knowing when certain cards will show up added an element of strategy. I still enjoy it though, that little bit doesn’t take much away if anything at all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday (2/4/2016):

Played some Strife at school.

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals
pic2514451_lg2 Players • 20-45 Minutes

Designed by Christopher Hamm

I played Strife again. This time I pulled off some ridiculous combos, one of which let me swap the Assassin for the Paladin, which let my reuse the Assassin to swap with the Warrior, which let me stop my opponents Legacy ability, and get +6 on top of the +4 from the Paladin’s ability.

 

 

 

 

Saturday (2/6/2016):

Game Night at a friend’s house.

Quartermaster General
pic2020915_md2-6 Players • 90-120 Minutes

Designed by Ian Brody

IMG_20160206_211221960I really liked this game. I’ve never played a card-driven war game before, and this one was pretty good. There were some things I didn’t like, but for the most part, it’s good.

I kind of wish there were some standard actions you could take on your turn, like attacking and moving and things like that, because I only had 3 Land Battle cards in my decks, so after they were used up, I was screwed.

I played Japan on the Axis team, so, I guess it’s good we lost, but still.

 

 

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lg2-4 Players • 90-120 Minutes

Designed by Eric M. Lang

IMG_20160206_223615413Hadn’t played this one in a few weeks, so it was overdue, ha ha. I really love Blood Rage. This game, I messed up big time in Age 2, because I didn’t take any quests, and my strategy just wasn’t there.

Still a blast, as always, though.

 

 

 

 

 

Fireteam Zero
pic22080551-4 Players • 90 Minutes

IMG_20160206_235246396_HDRDesigned by Mike Langlois and Christian Leonhard

We played the second Mission (Act II) this time. It was way harder than the first, but honestly, I love this game. It’s so much fun! I like how difficult it is.

Someone brought up how balanced it is, and I don’t honestly know. It might seem unbalanced in the enemies favor, but I think it also has to do with the players knowing what to expect and knowing the best strategy for the mission.

 

 

Sunday (2/7/2016):

Puppy Bowl/Super Bowl Party and Game Night at my house.

The Game
pic24051671-5 Players • 20 Minutes

Designed by Steffen Benndorf

IMG_20160207_162613167_HDRThe Game is interesting. Kind of makes me think of Group Solitaire. We’re all working together, but we don’t fully know what a good play is, and sometimes you just have to play something.

It’s hard, and I think it’s important to work together, which we didn’t do a lot of.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quartermaster General
pic2020915_md2-6 Players • 90-120 Minutes

Designed by Ian Brody

IMG_20160207_175306859Played this again. I liked it more this time, and I, of course, played Japan again. I’m starting to understand the strategy behind the deck. It’s tough, though. I don’t think Japan is the most straightforward deck to play.

I think a lot of doing well in this game is knowing the cards in your deck , and getting experience playing the game.

I think I’d like to see something like this, but a deckbuilder. That could be really interesting.

 

 

 

 

Shadow Hunters
pic1215982_md4-8 Players • 45 Minutes

IMG_20160207_185956782_HDRDesigned by Yasutaka Ikeda

Shadow Hunters is a pretty fun deduction/hidden role game. I didn’t do very good at all this time, and ended up losing. But I like it, despite the player elimination.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Codenames
pic2582929_md2-8 Players • 15 Minutes

Designed by Vlada Chvatil

Codenames was a good party game to end the night with. My team won the first two rounds, but the other team beat us round 3.

I think I’m getting a little tired of this one, so I think I’ll put it on the back burner for a little bit.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Miniatures, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

