Painting Miniatures

So recently, a friend of mine started teaching me how to paint miniatures, and now I’m ready to start painting on my own. In preparation, I’ve been watching a bunch of paint tutorial videos from Games Workshop on YouTube. Their videos are really fantastic for learning how to paint.

unspecifiedHere’s one of the Etin’s I did from Descent with help from my friend.

I already know what I’m going to get, so here’s my shopping list:

Paint – I’m getting the Army Painter Starter Kit from Amazon. I also looked at the Citadels starter and the Bones Miniatures starter kit, but I think the Army Painter set is the best value.

Brushes – I’m gonna pick up some decent brushes from Michaels. I’ll try to get Winsor & Newton’s, but if they’re too expensive right now, I’ll just get a cheaper, but not super cheap, set instead. I’m looking to pick up at least 2 medium brushes and 2 detail brushes, and maybe a wash brush.

Pallet – Gonna pick up some kind of pallet. A flat surface probably, and somewhat on the larger side, if possible. I saw one person who used a ceramic tile as a pallet and that seems like a decent idea.

Sealer – Getting clear acrylic Krylon paint for sealer. That’s what my friend recommended.

Primer – Picking up a matte black primer. Some people say black primer isn’t the way to go, but it’s what I’m gonna try. Later on I can try out white or gray.

Minis – I have Descent: Journeys in the Dark 2nd Edition, so I’m gonna use those, but I’m also gonna pick up a few Bones minis to practice with. Other than those, I dunno, maybe I’ll sell my Descent set once I’m finished and use that money to buy something else to paint.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Art, Miniatures, Painting, Tabletop Games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

