What I Played Last Week (1/11/2016 – 1/17/2016)

Tuesday (1/12/2016):

Met up at Hey Wanna Play with a friend to play BattleCon.

BattleCON: Devastation of Indines x2
pic2407334_mdBattleCON is a fighting card game that simulates the feel of a traditional fighting video game. It plays 1-5 players, and lasts about 20 minutes.

IMG_20160112_174121109We played 1 2-out-of-3 match and then one single match after that. This game is really growing on me. I like the system a lot, and I started to get a feel for the characters.

I’m considering getting this one, or War of Indines, because there’s so many cool fighters that give so much variety.

 

 

 

Wednesday (1/13/2016):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff.

Lagoon: Land of Druids
pic2260225_mdLagoon is a tile-placement and removal game. It plays 1-4 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20160113_182511231I liked Lagoon. It’s interesting, because throughout the entire game, players are both adding tiles to the board and removing them from the board. And the tiles left on the board at the end of the game determine how many points the tiles the players removed are worth for scoring.

One of the players I was playing with described it as “counterintuitive”. Because you want to collect tiles that are different from the tiles left on the board at the end of the game, and because you need to control tiles that don’t match the tiles you want to remove.

 

Indigo
pic1195319_mdIndigo is a tile-placement and gem-movement game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20160113_193456558_HDRIndigo is an interesting game. It’s like Tsuro on crack and there’s a much higher take-that element to it. Every time you score, you’re also giving points to one other player, and it’s possible that you won’t get any points yourself.

I really liked Indigo. It was fun, and I’ve never played antything quite like it before, but I had wanted to play for a while now.

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a card-drafting game and area control game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 60-120 minutes.

IMG_20160113_213421351You already know I love Blood Rage. What more do I have to say about it?

I lost badly this time. The problem I keep making is bad card choice. I’m realizing that every card choice is crucial, and I realized in this game that what’s also very important is making sure you can afford all the cards you take each age.

And don’t go into the battle in Yggdrasil unless you’re 1000% sure you’ll win. I keep making this damn mistake and it costs me the game every time.

 

Friday (1/15/2016):

Game Night at Plantation Community Church.

Kachina
pic478222Kachina is a tile-laying game with a Hopi Native theme. It plays 2-5 players and lasts from 30-45 minutes.

IMG_20160115_192151556I like Kachina a lot. It’s tough, but fun, and you really have to manage your tiles well, to maximize your score. Oddly enough, I feel like it plays quicker with more people, which isn’t usually the case with most games.

 

 

 

 

Codenames
pic2582929_mdCodenames is a party word-game. It plays 2 or more players and lasts about 30-60 minutes.

IMG_20160116_215259431_HDRCodenames is one of my new favorite party games. I like Taboo a lot, and this gives me a similar feel, only it’s kind of the opposite of Taboo, where instead of saying a lot of words to try to get your teammates to guess a word, you can only say 1 word, to try to get them to guess sometimes more than 1 word.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sushi Go!
pic1900075_mdSushi Go is a light drafting game. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20160115_213957683Sushi Go! is a great game for non-gamers or just a quick filler if you have some down time in between games. I usually play where Wasabi and Chopsticks carry over from round to round. It really adds a bit more to the game, and it prevents people from being screwed over with a last ditch Chopstick or Wasabi to their neighbor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Age of War
pic1977202_mdAge of War is a light dice game. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about 20 minutes.

IMG_20160115_220043870Age of War felt like a lighter version of Elder Sign, only it’s not cooperative. It was pretty good, but I felt like it lasted too long for what it was.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday (1/16/2016):

Game Night at my house. Russian Railroads, Shadow Hunters, 7 Wonders, Codenames, Samurai Spirit, Snow Tails.

Russian Railroads
pic1900403Russian Railroads is a Worker Placement route-building game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts from 90-120 minutes.

Russian Railroads is quickly becoming one of my favorite worker placement games up there with Viticulture. It’s just a fantastic system, with lots of paths to take.

I love how much there is to the game. Making sure you manage each track, and making sure you can take the actions you want to take. It’s just a fantastic system.

Forgot to take a pic. Sorry!

 

Shadow Hunters
pic1215982_mdShadow Hunters is a hidden-role, battle game. It plays 4-8 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20160116_183133578I liked Shadow Hunters. I don’t like how it has player elimination, but this one wasn’t too bad, because there are ways to prevent or change damage. This game is really more in-depth than a lot of hidden role games, though, and I appreciate that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Wonders
pic860217_lg7 Wonders is a card drafting, civilization building game. It plays 2-7 players and lasts about 30-45 minutes.

IMG_20160116_201534847_HDRI’ve played 7 Wonders a lot, but this was my first time playing with 7 players. It was great! I came in second with my usual science strategy.

We played with both the Leaders and Cities expansion. I really like both.

 

 

 

 

 

Codenames
pic2582929_md
Played Codenames again, had a great time again. My team did really bad, with some ridiculously bad clues and some poor guesses. Still had a good time, though.

I really like this game. It’s a great party game.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Samurai Spirit
pic2012135_mdSamurai Spirit is a cooperative game with a Samurai theme. It plays 1-7 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20160116_230443670_HDRSamurai Spirit is a really simple game in terms of mechanics. You draw cards or pass your technique to another player. But those decisions are important and how you use them really impacts the outcome of the game.

I enjoyed it, it was a bit simple (note I did not say it was easy. We lost badly). But I enjoyed it. I’d play again.

 

 

 

Snow Tails
pic2574022_mdSnow Tails is a racing game with a Dogsled theme. It plays 2-5 players and lasts from 45-60 minutes.

IMG_20160117_245931662I don’t really know how I feel about Snow Tails. I did good, came in second, nearly first. But a lot of the other players had trouble because they crashed into walls a lot. I like the mechanics for the most part, playing cards to control your sled’s speed and drift is really cool. I’d have to play at least one more time.

I was green. Look at the pic. Look at my beautiful lead.

One thing I didn’t like was how the person in first place takes the first move each round, so if they’re already in the lead, they get to get ahead first, making it very difficult to pass them.

Sunday (1/17/2016):

Went over a friend’s house for some gaming.

Russian Railroads
pic1900403
Got to play this one again. I did a lot better this time. Still didn’t win, but I got 300+ points. I didn’t feel like my strategy was going well at all in the beginning, but it worked out well in the later rounds. I think if I had a stronger opening round, and a clearer strategy I would have won.

IMG_20160117_182744411I just wanna play this one more. It’s so good and clean and I want to try some new strategies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spyfall x3
pic2453926_lgSpyfall is a hidden-role party game. It plays 3-8 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

I like Spyfall a lot, but I feel like it needs to be played with the right number of people. We played with 7 and it just makes it hard to figure out enough information, because people don’t get asked enough questions. I think 5-6 is the right number.

 

 

Evolution
pic2558560_lgEvolution is a species management card game. It plays 2-6 players and lasts from 50-70 minutes.

It’s been a while since I played this, and even longer since I played it with just 2 players. It’s good, I think some of the hype has died down for me. I still enjoy it, but I kind of know the cards now, so it’s not as exciting. Still had fun though.

Forgot to take a pic, sorry.

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgI was itching to play again. There are some games that, once you figure out the strategies, you kind of get bored, but with Blood Rage, I feel like it only makes you want to perfect it.

I won this game! I’ve played about 20 times now, and won only about 3 times. And I think every time I play I learn from the mistakes I make.

No pic again, sorry.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

