What I Played Last Week (1/4/2016 – 1/10/2016)

Wednesday (1/6/2016):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff. Had a good crowd.

Elysium
pic2203147_lgElysium is a set collection and card-drafting game with a Greek Mythology theme. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 60-90 minutes.

IMG_20160106_165113383_HDRI’ve been having trouble getting this one to the table, but I really enjoy it. It takes a few games to get familiar with the card powers, but once you are, it’s really smooth and everyone is fighting for the best cards.

I ended up winning this game with 100+ points, and my opponents were only in the 30s. But I can’t brag, this was their first time playing.

 

 

 

Specter Ops
pic2486481_lgSpecter Ops is a 1-vs-all, hidden-movement game. It plays 2-5 players and lasts from 60-90 minutes.

IMG_20160106_183324481This was my first time playing. It was alright. I didn’t really know what to do, and it feels like the type of game where you’re trying to get people to do a strategy, but no one wants to listen, because they don’t really know what to do either. We also played with a traitor, which I think made it even more chaotic.

It was okay. I dunno if I would play again.

 

 

 

Spyfall x2
pic2453926_lgSpyfall is a social deduction game. It plays 3-8 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

IMG_20151128_204019656This game we played with 8 players, and I think 8 isn’t the best number for this one, I’d probably cap it off at 6, that way enough questions are asked to each player that you really get a feel for who the spy is.

Either way I had fun. I didn’t get to be the spy, though.

 

 

 

 

 

Codenames
pic2582929_mdCodenames is a team vs. team party, word game. It plays 2-8 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

IMG_20160106_210023851_HDRWe played 5 rounds. I really really like this game. I especially like to be the Codemaster, who gives the clues to the teammates. It’s a really cool game, and I’d love to own it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hab & Gut
pic596750_mdHab & Gut is a stock market game. It plays 3-5 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20160106_222511632This was my first time playing and I have to say, this was a really interesting game. I like how all players share information, but no player has all the information. There is a lot of math, but it’s not overwhelming, and I really like how you choose 1 card to use at full power and 1 card at half power, it adds an interesting dynamic to it.

I would definitely play this one again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday (1/7/2016):

A friend wanted to meet up and play some games so we met up at Cool Stuff, then later, we went over a different friend’s house and played some more.

BattleCon: Fate of Indines
pic2555219_mdBattlecon is a strategic card game in the vein of fighting video games. It plays 2 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

IMG_20160107_174500272_HDRThis was my first time playing. I really like it. Every fighter has a different play style and it really does give that feel of a fighting video game. There’s the element of outwitting your opponent and trying to play the right cards at the right time. And it’s definitely a game where the more you play with a fighter, the better you get at playing them.

I definitely want to play this again!

 

Seasons
pic1299390_mdSeasons is a card and dice drafting game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 60 minutes.

IMG_20160107_185543767This was my first time playing in person. I really like it. There’s so much potential for combos and synnergy between cards, and it’s just really cool how much you can do in the game.

I definitely want to play this one again.

 

 

 

 

 

Russian Railroads: German Railroads
pic2729446_mdGerman Railroads is an expansion to Russian Railroads that changes the train tracks to Germany instead of Russia. It plays 1-4 players and lasts about 90-120 minutes.

IMG_20160107_194957560This was only my second time playing Russian Railroads, but I felt like I had a better grasp of the game this time, even with the new map. I really liked this one, and the new coal mechanic really adds an interesting twist to the game.

I’d play this again in a heartbeat. One of the most interesting worker placement games I’ve ever played.

 

 

 

 

 

Imperial Settlers
pic2000680Imperial Settlers is a card drafting, resource and hand management game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts from 45-90 minutes.

IMG_20160107_213422912I played with the Atlanteans faction this time,  and I don’t know what I was doing wrong, but I did worse than I’ve ever done. I scored 7 points at the end of the game and that’s it. I guess I really need to look at the Atlanteans deck and figure out the strategy.

 

 

 

 

 

Posthuman
pic2718965_mdPosthuman is a post-apocolyptic. adventure game. It plays 1-4 players and lasts from 120-180 minutes.

IMG_20160108_243724180This was my first time playing, and probably my last. I felt like the game could be streamlined a lot. There’s about 20 different decks of cards for different things, and I feel it could have been condensed into at least 10. The dice combat system is convoluted and was hard for me to understand. It was an okay game, but it took way too long to play for what it was.

I probably won’t play this one again.

 

 

 

Saturday (1/9/2016):

Went over a friend’s house, because he was teaching me and some others how to paint miniatures. After painting we played some games.

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lg
Blood Rage is a drafting and area control game with a Norse Mythology theme. It plays 2-4 players and lasts from 60-90 minutes.

IMG_20160110_245342502I nearly won, but lost because of one damn card choice! I should have taken that card.

Ah well, I had fun, I always have fun playing this game. It’s just so damn good!

 

 

 

 

 

BattleCON: Fate of Indines
pic2555219_mdBattleCON: Fate of Indines is a head to head fighting game that simulates the play of a traditional fighting video game. It plays 2 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

IMG_20160107_174500272_HDRSecond time playing. I tried Xenita, and I really like her playstyle, where she gambles with her life, but it can really pay off. I lost to Eustace, who I also really like, but again, I had a good time, and I’m excited to play this game more.

-Sorry, the pic is old, I forgot to take a picture this time.

 

Neuroshima Hex
pic1844819Neuroshima Hex is tile-laying battle game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 30-45 minutes.

IMG_20160110_040403717This was my first time playing the physical version of this game, but I’ve played it plenty on my phone. I like this one, but I think it works much better on the phone. The battle system takes a lot of remembering and there’s a lot of moving parts to it, and the app version does it all for you.

I won!

 

 

 

Sunday (1/10/2016):

Went over a friends house to play some games.

Eminent Domain: Microcosm
pic2521236_lg
Eminent Domain: Microcosm is a micro-game version of the game Eminent Domain. It plays 2 players and lasts about 20 minutes.

I like this game. It’s a great filler, and surprisingly deep for a micro-game. It gives you the feel of Eminent Domain, but the gameplay isn’t exactly the same.

I won, but to be fair, it was the other players first time playing.

 

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgI wanted Revenge from Saturday, but I didn’t get it. I did good, though. Once again, it came down to a bad decision, not taking a key card that would have probably won me the game.

IMG_20160110_014848956_HDRStill a blast, as always. We played with the Gods expansion, and the Gods really add some interesting changes to the game. I love playing with them.

 

 

 

 

 

7 Wonders x2
pic860217_lg7 Wonders is a card-drafting, civilization game. It plays 2-7 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20160110_195959462_HDRWe played with the Leaders expansion, and I think I won both games because of my leaders. Now that’s not to say everyone else didn’t have broken leaders, they did, but I was just dominating science every game.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gravwell
pic2237646_mdGravwell is a simultaneous-card-play game with a space and gravity theme. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20160110_213038801This was my first time playing Gravwell. This is one that has been on my radar for a while, and I’m glad I finally got to play.

It was okay. It wasn’t as good as I was hoping it would be, and that’s partly due to some fiddly rules. I might play it again, but I wouldn’t suggest it.

 

 

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

