What I Played Last Week (12/21/2015 – 12/27/2015)

Wednesday (12/23/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff. This day was okay. There was a lot of expecting to play games but not actually getting to play them. Namely Posthuman and Blood Rage. But I did get to play 2 new games, so I’m happy about that.

Mogul
pic1188327
IMG_20151223_180850812In Mogul, players bid for cards in a similar manner to No Thanks!. The player who wins the card decides if they want to take it for its stock value, or use the action at the bottom, either placing a building on the board or selling the matching color stock. The last player to pass before them gets the option they didn’t choose. It plays 3-5 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

I wanted to like Mogul, and I might on future plays, but I had a hard time grasping some of the concepts and strategy this time around. Before going in, I was told it’s like No Thanks! And that threw me off, because, it’s a lot more complex than No Thanks!.

The Castles of Mad King Ludwig
pic1961827In The Castles of Mad King Ludwig, players buy rooms to add to their castle. Different types of rooms have different bonuses, and completing rooms grants additional bonuses. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 90 minutes.

IMG_20151223_204329001I really liked this game, it was fun to build the castle and work on different strategies. My only complaints are that it felt too long for what it is, and I think that has a lot to do with how when you’re the Master Builder, you set the prices. I understand that it’s necessary, but it can take a while for someone to decide on the prices. Strategically, it also requires you to look around at everyone’s castles and rooms and see what tiles benefit them and that just eats up a lot of time.

 

Friday (12/25/2015):

Friday was Christmas day. After we opened presents and the like, we went over to my grandma’s house for pizza and we played No Thanks!

No Thanks! x3
pic699036In No Thanks!, players attempt to score the lowest number of points by collecting chips worth -1 point each, and trying to take the lowest-value cards. They do this by “bidding” on cards using their chips. It plays 3-5 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

IMG_20151225_164143624_HDRNo Thanks! is a great game because it’s super simple to teach and learn and can be taught to anyone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday (12/27/2015):

Saturday my relatives came over and I played some games with them.

Minecraft Card Game?
minecraft-minecraft-card-game-card-game-mattel-toys-pre-order-ships-october-14
In Minecraft Card Game?,  players accumulate resources and attempt to build tools, which give them points and special abilities. There are creepers that can pop up, and make everyone discard a resource card, and TNT which lets you blow up the resource piles and take 2 cards.

IMG_20151226_161442529This game made me think of Splendor and Archaeology: The Card Game. They share similar elements, but this game isn’t nearly as polished as those two. The creepers are too powerful and some of the tool abilities are too powerful as well. There’s also a lot of luck in what you can do on your turn, and the rulebook wasn’t clear about a few rules.

Overall, though I did have fun playing this game, but I probably wouldn’t play it again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The aMAZEing Labyrinth
pic1813478_lgIn The aMAZEing Labyrinth, players move the labyrinthine maze in an attempt to collect magic objects. If you collect all of your magic objects, you are the winner. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20151226_184506986I like this game. It’s simple and can be kind of easy if you don’t have a problem with spacial concepts.

 

 

 

 

Ticket to Ride
pic38668In Ticket to Ride, players compete to complete tickets by connecting routes from one city to the next. You build routes by playing matching-color cards and complete tickets by building enough of these routes to connect the cities on your ticket. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151226_232726131_HDRI got to introduce this to my niece and nephew and they really enjoyed it.

I remembered in the middle of the game that we weren’t supposed to use the double-routes in a 3 player game, but it was too late at that point, so we just played with them, which was fine.

 

 

Carcassonne
In pic2337577_lgCarcassonne, players play tiles to create the board, creating castles, roads and fields, in which their meeples score them points. It plasy 2-5 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151227_243813095_HDRThis one didn’t go over great with my niece and nephew, but I think they still had a good time with it.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Played Last Week (12/21/2015 – 12/27/2015)

  1. Castles of Mad King Ludwig, Labyrinth, and Ticket to Ride are three of my favorite board games. I would definitely call that week of gaming a success!

    Like

Leave a Reply

