What I Played Last Week (12/7/2015 – 12/13/2015)

Wednesday (12/9/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff.

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals x2
pic2514451_lg
Strife is a battle game, where players play champions from their hand and attmept to score the most points by conquering locations through strategic and tactical play. It plays 2 players and lasts from 20-60 minutes, depending on how many rounds you play.

Strife is one of my favorite, if not my favorite, 2 player games. It’s mechanics are super simple, but there’s so much thought and strategy to consider for every turn. The nature of the game allows for so many different combos, which I absolutely love.

 

 

 

Room-25 x2
pic1397624_lgRoom-25 can be played in different game modes, including fully cooperative and semi-cooperative. In the semi-cooperative game, players are assigned roles, either as a guard or as a prisoner. The prisoners goal is to make it to the exit, and move off the board, while the guard’s goal is to kill all the prisoners. It plays 1-6 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20151209_182451075The fully cooperative game wasn’t all that exciting. We won really quickly and easily. The semi-cooperative game was a lot of fun! Nobody knows who’s a prisoner or a guard, so you don’t know who to trust. In the end, we won, but it was a blast! I really enjoyed this game.

 

 

 

 

Fist of Dragonstones
pic441579_lgFist of Dragonstones is a blind-bidding game where players attempt to buy role’s which let them perform different actions to score stones, silver, common gold, fairy gold or victory points. It plays 3-6 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20151209_185214347Fist of Dragonstones was a pretty cool game, and even though the gameplay wasn’t much like Citadels, the character cards (the cards the players are bidding on) gave me a similar feel to Citadels. I enjoyed this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

At this point, I started playing a game of Imperial Settlers, but I didn’t intend to finish it because I knew some other players would be playing Blood Rage and I wanted to get in on that. So I taught a friend of mine how to play Imperial Settlers, played for a little bit and then left to play Blood Rage.

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a card drafting game with elements of area control. Players complete quests, upgrade their army, win battles, lose battles in a glorious way, all in an attempt to win glory points. It plays 2-4 players and lasts from an hour to an hour and a half.

I love Blood Rage, that’s no surprise. This game was really good. I didn’t maintain a lot of characters on the board through the rounds, but I still managed to get second place, which I’m happy with.

 

Saturday (12/12/2015):

I hosted a game night at my house. 6 people showed up. We had a good time. I ate too much pizza.

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals
pic2514451_lgIt was just two of us for the first 30 minutes or so, so I taught my friend Kay Strife. I lost by 1 point. It was a good game, and I’m always fascinated by the potential combos in Strife. I don’t think I’ve seen any other game deliver so much synergy with so few cards. It’s really incredible!

IMG_20151212_160423108

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evolution
pic2558560_lgEvolution is still a favorite. I pulled out some really good combos, with 3 species all with Hard Shell and 2 with cooperation, so each time I fed, I was taking 3-4 food. And I was rarely the target of a Carnivore, because they would only get 1 food from attacking me.

IMG_20151212_170107855

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spyfall x3
pic2453926_lgWe played 3 rounds of Spyfall. A lot of new players this time, and they really enjoyed it. I wasn’t the spy at all, which kinda sucked, cuz I like being the spy.

IMG_20151128_204019656

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lg
We played Blood Rage! I didn’t go in with a clear strategy, and it somehow still worked out for the most part. I came in second place, which is pretty good.

IMG_20151212_192349223I love everything about this game, and I’m always up for a game.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After Blood Rage, we were gonna play Russian Railroads, but someone mentioned Imperial Settlers, and 2 of the people at the table really wanted to play Imperial Settlers. It was a good time, but I would have liked to play Russian Railroads.

Imperial Settlers
pic2000680Imperial Settlers is a game that I absolutely love! It has cards and strategy and every round you can do more than the last. There’s so much going on and so many options, but it’s just a blast to play!

IMG_20151212_212734711

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

