What I Played Last Week (11/30/2015 – 12/6/2015)

Wednesday (12/2/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff. Good turn out, about 10-12 people showed up.

Dominion
pic394356_lgDominion is a classic deckbuilding game where players try to get the best cards in their deck in order to buy the highest-value victory point cards and win the game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151202_163713778I brought Dominion because two of my friends hadn’t played it before and I figured it’s a classic, so they should try it out. Everyone had a good time. I won by a long shot, but that’s expected since it was their first game.

 

 

 

 

Spyfall
pic2453926_lgSpyfall is a one-against-many party game where a spy player tries to figure out what location everyone is in, and the non-spy players try to figure out who the spy is all by asking questions and making accusations. It plays 3-8 players and each round lasts about 9 minutes. You can play as many rounds as you like.

IMG_20151202_173124436Spyfall is a game where the people you play with determines how fun the game is. In this instance, it was okay. Some of the players, by their own admission, aren’t great at the game.

 

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a card drafting game where players attempt to complete quests, die gloriously, control and pillage provinces, and score the most glory points at the end of the game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151202_183929382I won! Ha ha, I actually won this game of Blood Rage and it was glorious! My strategy was to increase my Horns stat, letting me have a bunch of units on the board, and take over entire areas, so I could pillage uncontested, or with very little contest. And it payed off brilliantly!

I have to give a shout out to my friend Vernon who’s copy of the game looks incredible because of his brilliant paint work on the miniatures.

 

Five Tribes
pic2055255Five Tribes is a mancala-style meeple movement game, where players pick up meeples and drop them one tile at a time, gaining special actions based on the color of the last meeple they dropped. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour and a half.

IMG_20151202_205027505This was my second time playing with the expansion, and while it’s great and adds some really cool new things to the game, it’s already a brain-burner, and the expansion just adds to that. I still love it, and think it’s a great game, but it takes a bit out of me.

 

 

 

 

Biblios
pic759154_lgBiblios is a set collection and auction game where players collect sacred scripts (cards) and try to get points by having the most in each color of script. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 20-30 minutes.

IMG_20150829_141920607_HDRI really like Biblios. I used to hate it, but it’s grown a lot on me, and this time I messed up, me and another player tied for first, but he had more gold at the end, so he won the tie. All because I made a stupid decision in the last round of the auction. I’ll remember that for next time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

St. Petersburg
pic2298046St. Petersburg is a set collection card game where players try to get different cards from 5 different decks, in an attempt to score the most victory points. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 2 hours.

IMG_20151202_230452562I think my experience with this game, being a bad one, is mostly due to a bad rules explanation and the fact that I didn’t really know any of the people I was playing with. It also might have been due to the fact that it was very late at night and I was tired. It also probably had to do with the fact that the expansion was added in, even though it was my first time playing, and the fact that the banker kept forgetting to give me money…yeah, there was a lot of things working against me here.

Anyway, the game is interesting, and I think with a different group, in a different setting, I would enjoy St. Petersburg quite a bit. Aside from a few rules annoyances, it seems like a pretty good game.

 

Saturday (12/5/2015):

A few of us met up at Cool Stuff, then headed over to a friends house shortly afterwards.

7 Wonders: Duel x2
pic2576399In 7 Wonders: Duel, each player controls different wonder cards and must draft cards to gain power and victory points. It plays 2 players and lasts about 15 to 20 minutes.

IMG_20151205_155450989I liked 7 Wonders: Duel a lot! It’s very different from regular 7 Wonders in terms of gameplay. The same concepts are there, but carried out in a new and fresh way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evolution
pic2558560_lgEvolution is a hand management card game where players create and maintain species of animals, hoping to eat the most food. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151205_173901238I love the card combos in Evolution. I love figuring out the best trait combos to give to my species and figuring out when and if to go Carnivore. It’s always a lot of fun.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rum & Bones x2
pic2299556_lgRum & Bones is a MOBA-style board game where players control a team of pirates, trying to raid their opponent’s ship and defeat their objectives. It plays 2-6 players and lasts from an hour to two hours.

IMG_20151205_191030760I lost both games. I think if I had more time to think about the best ways to combo my leaders, I would have done better, and if my dice rolls were better. But I had fun. I always enjoy this game.

 

 

 

 

 

Blood Rage x2
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a card drafting and area control/combat game where players strive to be the best viking clan in the land by completing quests, pillaging villages, and dying glorious deaths on their way to Valhalla. It plays 2-4 players and lasts from an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151205_212821491I still love Blood Rage. But I’ve found it’s very important to decide on a strategy early on and explot that strategy as much as possible. Finding the right card combos is key, and knowing when to participate in a battle and when to keep out is a very important choice to make.

 

 

 

Deus
pic2219643_lgDeus is a civilization-building game where players control areas of the board by playing cards and taking actions. It plays 2-4 players and lasts from an hour to an hour and a half.

pic2219643_lg2Deus was…okay. I think if everyone had a better grasp of the rules going in, it would have been a smoother, more enjoyable game. But it wasn’t bad, I would definitely play again. It kind of felt like a worse version of Imperial Settlers, which, given the name of this blog, you can probably guess is one of my favorite games.

Sadly, I forgot to take a picture of our Gameplay, so instead, here’s a picture of the box flipped upside down. That’s fun, right? You like that?

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

