What I Played Last Week (11/23/2015 – 11/29/2015)

Wednesday (11/25/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff. 8 people showed up.

The Castles of Burgundy
pic1176894The Castles of Burgundy is a dice-rolling, tile-placement game where players build their city by using their dice. It plays 2-4 players and can last from 90 minutes to 3 hours.

 

 

IMG_20151125_180056942I really like The Castles of Burgundy, but it’s too long with 4 players. I don’t generally like to play a game for more than an hour and a half at most. I haven’t played Castles with 2 or 3 players yet, but I think it would be better in terms of length.

 

 

 

 

 

Abyss x2
pic2327506Abyss is a press-your-luck, set-collection game where players must collect cards, which they then use to buy Lord cards, which give them special abilities and points at the end of the game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20151125_213342220This was my first time playing Abyss, and I’m really glad I did. It’s a fantastic game! Really fun, simple, and the decisions you make are really important. My friend actually bought a copy of it right after we finished the first game, and then we played a second.

 

 

 

Thursday (11/26/2015):

Thanksgiving day. My First-Cousins-Once-Removed (as I learned is what they are in relation to me) as well as my mom and I were bored, so I brought out a game for us to play. Afterward, my sister and her family came back to our house and we played some more games.

No Thanks! x3
pic699036No Thanks is a simple card game where players compete for the lowest points by either taking a card or placing a chip on it and saying “No Thanks!” the chips are worth negative points at the end. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

It was really cool to play with family, because it’s not something I get to do very often. Most of the time my immediate family doesn’t even want to play games, let alone my extended family. So this was a really nice experience and it made Thanksgiving a lot more bareable.

 

Taboo
pic2293127_lgTaboo is a party-style game where players pick a card with a word on it, and try to get their teammates to guess that word without saying it or any similar words listed on the card. It plays 3 or more players and lasts as long as you want it to.

I really enjoy Taboo. It’s simple, but fun. It’s not for everyone, but if you play with the right group, it can be a blast!

 

 

 

 

Friday (11/27/2015):

No Thanks! x3
pic699036Playing with my sister and her kids was really nice. I’m glad she enjoys playing games. And I’m glad I got to play games with her, because I don’t see her all that often.

 

 

 

 

 

 

DiXit
pic455883_lgDiXit is a party game where each player has a hand of 6 cards and on their turn, must choose 1 to play face-down and tell a “story” about that card, then all other players must choose a card that they think is the one the Storyteller chose. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20151127_120857701Another one that everyone enjoyed, and it’s simple enough that even the kids can understand it, at least somewhat. Ha ha, very cool game, and a very fun experience.

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday (11/28/2015):

Big monthly meetup at Cool Stuff.

504 (World 612)
pic2570515504 is an incredible experiment of a game created by Friedmann Friese, which includes components and rules for 504 different games or “Worlds” for players to play. It plays 1-4 players and the length varies depending on the world you’re playing.

IMG_20151128_125113559World 612 was a very simple pick-up and deliver game. It was cool, though. Easy to play and I actually enjoyed it. I definitely want to play more worlds and even play some of the worlds more than once.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a card drafting game with area control and war elements, beautiful artwork and miniatures and incredibly fun gameplay. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151122_240020432I will continue to give this game praise. It’s ridiculously good and I want to play it all the time now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Russian Railroads
pic1900403Russian Railroads is a worker-placement game where players take actions with their workers in order to move their trains along different tracks, which score them points and bonuses throughout the game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151128_160059154Russian Railroads was really interesting and I think I’d have to play a second time to really understand all the intricacies of it. But I did enjoy it. It’s a good worker-placement game and the train element to it is really interesting and complex.

 

 

 

 

 

Spyfall x2
pic2453926_lgSpyfall is a social deduction game where all players are dealt a Location card with the same location on it, except one person is dealt the spy card. Players ask each other questions to try and find out who the spy is, but the spy uses this information to figure out what the location is. It plays 3-8 players and each round lasts 9 minutes. You can play as many rounds as you like.

IMG_20151128_204019656Spyfall is one of my favorite party games, and probably my favorite social deduction game. It’s so devilishly simple, but so much fun!

We played about 3-4 rounds of this, and then we played the next game, and then came back and played one more round of this before the store closed.

 

Dark Moon
pic2320134_lgDark Moon is a semi-cooperative game, where some players are infected and some are not. The uninfected players must complete 3 tasks and then one final task to end the game, but the infected players must sabotage this mission and make one of 3 operation panels break. It plays 3-7 players and lasts about 45 minutes to an hour.

IMG_20151128_202850976I really like Dark Moon and I think it’s probably my favorite in the semi-cooperative genre. It’s really quick, and little fiddly, but I really like it.

 

 

 

 

The Castles of Burgundy
pic1176894My friend came back to my house and we played one more game. The Castles of Burgundy. This was my first time playing 2-player and it went a lot quicker than with 4 players. Very good game, I really enjoy this one.

 

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

