What I Played Last Week (11/16/2015 – 11/22/2015)

Wednesday (11/18/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff. Had a great time. Played some great games. Good turnout. About 9 or 10 people.

Sheriff of Nottingham
pic2075830_lgSheriff of Nottingham is a bluffing game where players attempt to get goods past the sheriff without getting caught with Contraband. It plays 3-5 players and lasts about an hour.

Sheriff is a great game. You really gotta get into it, and just have fun with it. It can be tricky, and some groups will rely heavily on bribes, while others will rely more on luck to get their goods past the sheriff.

 

Camel (C)up
pic1918028_lgCamel (C)up is a betting game where players bet on which camel they think will come out in the lead of each leg of the race as well as who will win and lose the race by the end of the game. It plays 2-8 players and lasts about 20 minutes.

IMG_20151118_192557027I asked a friend to bring this one because I wanted to try it out. It was okay. More luck than I would have liked. I don’t think I’d play this one again.

 

 

 

 

 

Blood Rage
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a card drafting, area control game where players compete for glory by completing quests, winning pillages, and dying heroically. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151118_211838008I loved Blood Rage. I was hesitent to play it because I thought it was just an aggressive area control combat game, but it really isn’t. It’s more about the card play and area majority than it is about the combat.

 

 

 

 

 

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals
pic2514451_lgStrife is a strategic card game where players have the same hand of cards and attempt to outwit their opponent by playing the right cards at the right time. It plays 2 players and can lasts between 20 and 60 minutes, depending on how many rounds you play.

Strife is my favorite strategic 2-player game. The card play is fantastic and there is a lot of strategy that goes into the card choices you make.

 

 

 

 

Friday (11/20/2015):

After the regularly scheduled Game Night at church failed miserably, a friend of mine came over and we played a few games. Which was great, because it would have otherwise been a very boring night.

Summoner Wars
pic2407328Summoner Wars is a 1 vs. 1 tactical card game where players control a faction of monsters, and attempt to defeat their opponent’s Summoner. It plays 2 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20151120_201230080I like this game and I’d like to play it more, but I hardly ever have anyone to play it with.  This game was fun. I used the Deep Dwarves and they have some really fun special abilities, but my opponent ended up winning in the end.

 

 

 

 

Five Tribes
pic2055255Five Tribes is a Mancala-style meeple-movement game where players drop meeples around the board to take actions, all while trying to place their camels, collect resources, and score the most victory points at the end of the game. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151120_210226724I still really love Five Tribes. Unfortunately it can suffer from Analysis Paralysis, but it doesn’t really bother me in that regard. The gameplay is solid, and I like how many different options are available throughout the game.

 

 

 

Battleship: Hidden Threat
pic1245304_lgBattleship: Hidden Threat is a 1 vs. 1 filler card game where players attempt to use their deck of peg cards and special ability cards to take out all of their opponent’s ships. It plays 2 players and lasts about 20-30 minutes.

I like this game. It’s much better than traditional battleship. There’s more strategy involved, with the cards, and it’s just a lot more interesting and fun.

 

 

 

Saturday (11/21/2015):

A friend invited me and some others to his house for a game night. We stayed up til 3am playing games and it was an awesome time!

Kingsburg
pic253057Kingsburg is a dice-placement game where players influence the King’s advisors in order to gain resources, increase their military strength, and gain victory points, and have enough military strength at the end of a round to defeat the attackers. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151121_175245662I enjoyed Kingsburg. It’s simple, but fun and interesting. There are two main things I did not like about it, though. One is that there is no end of game scoring, so it can get to a point where you know one player is going to win before the game ends. My other complaint is that it felt to easy to win against the attack at the end of each year.

 

 

Mission Red Planet
pic2499748Mission Red Planet is a simultaneous-action-selection and area control game where players attempt to control different areas of mars and complete mission cards by playing different cards from their hand. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151121_193405520I…didn’t like this one. It felt too easy to get screwed over and I don’t like that. I might play it again, but I wouldn’t suggest it. It really sucks, too because this is one I was really excited about, and it just really fell flat for me.

 

 

 

 

Puerto Rico

best-board-game-puerto-rico-boxPuerto Rico is a tableau building, variable phase order game where players attempt to control the most prosperous plantation by buying buildings, trading and shipping goods, and using special buildings to gain abilities. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about an hour and a half.

IMG_20151121_215204411This is another one that I had heard good things about and wanted to try for myself. It was okay. I didn’t like it as much as I had hoped to, and I feel like I’ve played other games that do the same thing better. I would play it again, but it wasn’t great for me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blood Rage x2
pic2439223_lgBlood Rage is a drafting and area control game where players play cards, invade with their warriors and monsters, die gloriously, and attempt to score the most glory points. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151122_243439417Let me tell you ’bout Blood Rage. It’s amazing! Quickly becoming one of my favorite games. It’s so much fun, whether you win or lose. I seriously want to buy this game, it’s so good!

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

