What I Played Last Week (11/9/2015 – 11/15/2015)

Wednesday (11/11/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff Games. We had a great turnout this time, with 10 people.

Imperial Settlers
pic2000680
Imperial Settlers is a resource management, civilization building, game where players collect and use resources to build buildings to expand their empire. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 1 to 1 and a half hours.

IMG_20151111_175419I had the chance to introduce this to some friends who really enjoyed it. It’s no secret that it’s one of my favorite games. I love how every round you have more to do than the last round. I love how it can be aggressive, but isn’t strictly about the aggressiveness.

 

 

 

 

 

The Castles of Burgundy
pic1176894The Castles of Burgundy is a dice-rolling, tile-placement game where players attempt to expand their estate through the powers of different types of tiles. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 30 to 90 minutes.

IMG_20151111_212830The Castles of Burgundy is a game I had heard about for a long time, but never actually got to play until now. And I’m really glad I did, because I thought it was an excellent game! It’s a bit long, but it kept me interested. I’d definitely like to play this one again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kachina
pic478222Kachina (you might be familiar with the redesign, Voluspa) is a tile-laying game where players attempt to play the highest-numbered tile in a row to score points equal to the number of tiles in that row. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20151111_220846589Kachina is a great tile-laying game. It scales very well, where it actually feels quicker with more players, which is rare. I always enjoy it and I think it was a good way to finish off the night.

 

 

 

Saturday (11/14/2015):

I hosted game night at my house. Had a fantastic turnout of 10 people! We split into groups. Some games that were played that I was not a part of were: Catacombs, Tiny Epic Galaxies, B.S., and Fours. Everyone had a blast. It was a great night.

Carcassonne (With Inns & Cathedrals Expansion)
pic2337577_lgCarcassonne is a tile-placement game where players use thiefs, knights and farmers to score points by completing cities, roads and controlling the majority in fields. It plays 2-5 players (or 6 with the expansion) and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151114_144710626Carcassonne is the first modern board game I ever played. It was the first one I bought, and I still have it, about 4 years later. It’s still a great game.

We played where you have a hand of 3 tiles and draw a new one at the end of your turn, rather than the draw 1 and play it. I like it better this way, because you have more options and more time to plan ahead.

 

 

 

 

Evolution
pic2558560_lg
Evolution is a species managment card game where players must feed their species and keep them alive to score the most points. It plays 2-6 players.

IMG_20151114_161742938Still a great game. Got to introduce it to a few new people who all enjoyed it. I’d like to get the Flight expansion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Taboo
pic2293127_lg
Taboo is a partnership or team party game where players try to get their teammates to guess a word written on their card without saying the word or the associated words listed on the card. It plays 4 or more players and lasts as long as you want it to.

Taboo is one of my favorite party games. It’s fun and funny and so satisfying when you get a bunch of words in a row.

It’s not for everyone and sometimes two people are just on the same wavelength and get a bunch out really quick. This doesn’t bother me at all, but I can see how it might bother some others.

 

Mystery of the Abbey
pic897161
Mystery of the Abbey is a deduction game where a monk has been killed and the players try to figure out who killed them by asking questions and stealing cards from opponents. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20151114_191358319I really like Mystery of the Abbey. The first time I played I didn’t really know how to use some of the information that was revealed, but this time I understood it better. I really want to play this one again soon.

 

 

 

 

Sheriff of Nottingham
pic2075830_lgSheriff of Nottingham is a press-your-luck party game where players attempt to convince the sheriff that they’re only bringing legal goods into the city of Nottingham while secretly smuggling in contraband. It plays 3-5 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151115_153632This is such a funny game! It’s so much fun and the player interaction is top notch. One of my favorite party games.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Betrayal at House on the Hill
pic828598Betrayal at House on the Hill is a semi-cooperative game where players explore a haunted mansion until they discover that one of them is actually a traitor out to kill them. It plays 3-6 players and lasts from 30 minutes to 2 hours.

IMG_20151114_235651764This was my first time playing Betrayal and I really enjoyed it, but I think it went a little too long. It also felt like the rules weren’t completely clear, making it a bit fiddly.

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday (11/15/2015):

Vs. System 2PCG
pic2630832Vs. System 2PCG is an expandable card game where players have a deck of cards that they use to defeat their opponent’s main character. It plays 2 players.

I played an Iron Man deck I found online, and I really really enjoyed it. It was a very fun match.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

