What I Played Last Week (10/5/2015 – 10/11/2015)

I played Vs. System 2PCG almost every day this week, but I didn’t feel like making a different section for each day.

Wednesday (10/7/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetups at Cool Stuff. We had a new guy this time. The turnout was pretty good, about 6 people showed up.

No Thanks! x2
pic699036No Thanks! is a light, filler, card game where players bid on cards and attempt to score the lowest number of points. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 15 minutes.

We played No Thanks! a few times while waiting for others to show up. I swear I’m usually terrible at this game, but I won every time.

 

 

 

 

Roll For the Galaxy
pic1473629_lgRoll for the Galaxy is a dice allocation and tableau-building game where players attempt to develop, settle, ship, and explore to build their planet and collect the most victory points. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151007_190639125Roll for the Galaxy is very similar to another, similarly-themed, game called Eminent Domain. The main difference is that Roll for the Galaxy uses dice and Eminent Domain uses cards.

I think I prefer Eminenet Domain to RftG because the system to follow another players actions feels smoother and more enjoyable. I also like the deck-building aspect of Eminent Domain. I would play RftG again, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to play it.

 

Run, Fight, or Die!
pic2039968_lgRun, Fight, or Die is a semi-cooperative, yahtzee-style, dice game where players attempt to kill zombies and collect followers. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour and a half with higher player counts.

IMG_20151007_210357539Run, Fight, or Die! is a fun game…when it’s your turn. There is a lot of down time in this game, so waiting for other people to finish their turn can be tiresome.

The game could easily be played simultaneously, if there was enough dice for each player, and I think this would make for a more enjoyable, albeit a little more chaotic game. I wouldn’t go out of my way to play this one again.

Strife: Legacy of the Eternals
pic2514451_lgStrife is a strategic card game where players are given the same hand of 9 cards with which they must outthink their opponent and play the right champions to score the most points. It plays 2 players and can last from 20 minutes to an hour (depending on how many rounds you play).

Strife is hands-down my favorite strategic 2-player game (that isn’t an ECG/CCG). It’s so fun to think about what your opponent could do, and it’s so fun to see your combos work out. It’s a brilliantly designed game, and I can’t wait for the sequel coming in the future.

 

 

Saturday (10/10/2015):

Hosted a game night at my house. Had a good turnout of 7 people. Everyone said they had a good time. I know I did.

Tsuro
pic875761_lgTsuro is a light tile-placement game where players connect paths, trying to keep their stone on the board, and avoid being knocked off. It plays 2-8 players and lasts about 20 minutes.

IMG_20151010_153911350I liked Tsuro. It’s a really simple game, but it’s pretty fun. I don’t like player elimination in games, but this one is so quick that it really doesn’t matter.

The board is also beautiful, and the components are good quality.

 

 

 

 

7 Wonders
pic860217_lg7 Wonders is a civilization-building and card-drafting game where players try to build the best civilization using cards that represent different types of buildings. It plays 1-7 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

We played with both the Leaders and Cities expansions. This was only my second time playing with the Cities expansion, and I like it a lot.

IMG_20151010_163029294_HDR7 Wonders is my favorite drafting game, and one of my favorite card games. The only downside to the game is the long set up time, because the game itself plays in a very short amount of time.

 

 

Citadels
pic636868Citadels is a light tableau-building game where players draft roles and carry out different actions in an attempt to build district cards. It plays 2-8 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151010_183750690I like the gameplay of Citadels, but I think it lasts too long for what it is. It feels like a light filler game, but it ends up taking a lot longer than a filler game should take. There is a bit of take-that to it as well, and there’s a card that causes a player to lose their turn, which I don’t like.

 

 

 

 

No Thanks! x2
pic699036No Thanks! is becoming my go-to filler game lately. I think because it plays so quickly and it’s so easy to teach.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheaty Mages
pic1644921Cheaty Mages is a light, bluffing and betting game where players secretly choose fighters to bet on and then play cards to affect their power, but since the cards are played face-down, it’s hard to know if a player wants a fighter to win or lose. It plays 3-6 players and lasts about 20 minutes.

IMG_20151010_200459276Cheaty Mages is fun, but I am not good at predicting who players will bet on. I do really enjoy this game, though.

 

 

 

Evolution
pic2558560_lg
Evolution is a strategic card game where players grow and protect species’ while trying to eat the most food. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour.

IMG_20151010_210929595This time we played with the Flight expansion, which adds Avian species and some new trait cards. It didn’t feel overwhelming with the new stuff, it felt like more of the same, just with more options, which I think is nice.

 

 

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

