What I Played Last Week (9/28/2015 – 10/4/2015)

Hey guys, sorry I didn’t post last week, I was out of town and I was exhausted. But I’m back for this week, so let’s get started.

Wednesday (9/30/2015):

Regular Wednesday meetup at Cool Stuff.

Jarl: The Vikings Tile-Laying Game
pic2373249_lgJarl is a chess-like tile-movement game with the goal of capturing the opponents Jarl before they capture yours. It plays 2 players and lasts about 20 to 30 minutes.

Jarl was an interesting game. It’s easy to understand how to play, but there’s a lot going on at every moment of the game and it can be overwhelming. Even though I won the game I played, I don’t think it’s the type of game for me, because there’s just so much thinking about what moves to make on your turn.

IMG_20150930_183735419I would probably play again if someone asked, but I wouldn’t outright suggest it.

 

 

 

 

Epic: Card Game
pic2681565Epic is a strategic card battle game, where players take turns playing overpowered cards in an attempt to deal 30 damage to their opponents. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20150930_190018985_HDRThe way we played, we just shuffled all the cards and dealt 30 to each player. It was okay, but I think it would be a lot more fun if we constructed our own decks from scratch, or if we drafted the cards. I also think it would be a better experience as a 2-player game, rather than 3-player like we played.

I would definitely like to play Epic again, but I’d also definitely want to draft the cards or construct decks.

 

 

 

 

Rum & Bones
pic2299556_lgRum & Bones is a team vs. team MOBA-style miniatures game where each team controls different heroes and attempts to destroy objectives their opponents control worth a total of 6 victory points. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about 1 to 1 and a half hours.

IMG_20150930_204632701This time we played with an expansion, where one teams bases were on 3 different, smaller ships, and the other team’s bases were on one big ship in the middle. It was quite fun. My team ended up losing, but I still had a good time.

I really like Rum & Bones and would honestly own it if it wasn’t so expensive. It’s my favorite miniatures game, although I haven’t played many.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

