What I Played Last Week (9/7/2015 – 9/13/2015)

I changed up the formatting again. I’m trying to find a rhythm to it. I think I like what I’ve done this time. Rather than giving a full explanation of how the game works, I just did a small description and then gave my opinion, because the big walls of text I had in last weeks post were a bit too much, I think.

I will also say I played Vs. 2PCG almost every day last week, but didn’t want to bog down this post with that, so I decided not to include it.

Wednesday (9/10/2015):

Regular Wednesday Meetup at Cool Stuff. We had a new person this time, which was cool.

Survive: Escape From Atlantis
pic770740Survive is a cutthroat tile-removal game in which players attempt to move their survivors off of a sinking island, across deadly waters, to safety. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 45 minutes to an hour.

I like Survive. It can be cutthroat at times, but I don’t think the aggressiveness is overwhelming. It does depend on the people you play with. 2015-09-09 16.36.46

 

 

 

 

 

Ticket to Ride (With “1910” Expansion)
pic38668Ticket to Ride is a route-building game where players play cards to place their trains on the board in an attempt to complete tickets, which score them victory points at the end of the game. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

2015-09-09 18.25.44Ticket to Ride is a classic gateway game, but it still holds up. This was my first time playing with the 1910 expansion, and I think it makes the game fresh again. The larger-sized cards are a nice touch, and the new tickets add more variety to it.

 

 

 

Last Night on Earth: The Zombie Game
pic207777Last Night On Earth is a team vs. team zombie game where the Zombie team attempts to stop the Human team from completing their mission before the sun rises. It plays 2-6 players and lasts way too long!

2015-09-09 19.23.58I did not enjoy Last Night On Earth at all. There’s too much luck in the dice rolls, the zombies only die if you roll doubles, which makes them feel indestructible, the game lasts way too long, and there’s a ton of down time in between turns. On top of this, you only get to do one thing on your turn, search or move, neither of which is particularly exciting.

 

 

Colt Express
pic2031465_lgColt Express is a programmed-movement game in which train robbers attempt to shoot and punch other players and pick up the most loot, all while moving inside and atop a train. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about 30 to 45 minutes.

2015-09-09 20.30.46The first time I played Colt Express, I didn’t care for it much. This time I had more fun with it. My only beef would be that you can’t really see what’s going to happen before you play your cards, so it can be hard to really plan a strategy.

The 3D train is cool, but it can be hard to move your meeple around if you have big hands.

 

 

Rum & Bones
pic2299556_lgRum & Bones is a team vs. team game in the style of a multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA), similar to League of Legends or DOTA 2. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

2015-09-09 21.27.36I haven’t played a lot of Team vs. Team games, and I haven’t played any MOBA’s, but this was a really awesome experience and I definitely want to play Rum & Bones again!

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday:

Some friends wanted to meet at Cool Stuff, then I went to a friends house for a game night.

DC Comics: Deck-Building Game
pic1355432
The DC Comics Deck-Building Game is a game where…well you can figure this one out on your own. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 45 minutes.

IMG_20150912_144258177_HDR This was the first time I played this one and I really like it. I’ve kind of started to feel burnt out on Deckbuilding games, because new ones often don’t add much to the system. This game adds variable player super powers, which I think is really cool. It also adds attacks and blocks, which add a depth to the game that I haven’t really seen done before in the same way.

 

 

Uptown
pic204384
Uptown is a strategic, grid-based, tile-placement game where players attempt to make the smallest number of groups on the board with the tiles they draw. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 30 to 45 minutes.

IMG_20150912_152846420Uptown (or “Blockers!” as it’s now called) is a really neat game. It kind of has the feel of Blokus, but with more strategy and tough decision making. If someone is dominating the middle section of the board, it can be hard to stop them, or even to keep yourself isolated to one group.

I really enjoyed Uptown, it’s a simple, but strategic abstract game that isn’t too much of a brain burner.

 

Tikal
pic178078_lgTikal is a tile-placement and area-majority game where players place and move their explorers around the board, while trying to score temples, collect treasure, and stop their opponents from doing the same. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20150912_171249545Tikal was a really fun game! I’m not the best at understanding the strategy with area majority games, but I still had a great time playing Tikal, and I’d definitely like to play again.

 

 

Kachina
pic478222
Kachina is a strategic tile-placement game, where players are adding tiles to the spread, trying to play the highest-numbered tile in the row. What makes it interesting is that almost all of the tiles have special powers that change the rules. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 30-45 minutes.

IMG_20150912_180025810Kachina is one of my favorite tile-placement games. It’s simple, but there’s strategy to it. It’s not too hard to teach, and people just kind of get it. This was my first time playing with 5 players, and it’s great. It’s one of the few games that actually go quicker with more players.

Biblios
pic759154_lgBiblios is a card-drafting and auction game where players attempt to collect the highest card values of each color card, while manipulating the dice to give them more points. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20150912_181450948_HDRBiblios is a great little game. It’s quick, it’s simple, and there’s enough strategy to keep it interesting each time. I used to dislike it a lot, but it’s grown on me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

After Biblios, I left Cool Stuff to go to my friend’s game night.

Evolution
pic2558560_lg
Evolution is a strategic card game and species-management game where players compete to eat the most food, which is worth victory points at the end of the game. It plays 2-6 players and lasts about an hour to an hour and a half.

IMG_20150912_195426674If you’ve seen any of my other posts where I talk about Evolution, you know I love it. It’s one of my new favorite games.

 

 

 

 


7 Wonders
pic860217_lg
7 Wonders is a card-drafting, civilization-building game where players play a variety of different card types to build their civilization and score them points at the end of the game. It plays 2-7 players and lasts about 30 minutes.

IMG_20150912_2106486907 Wonders is my favorite drafting game. There’s a lot of paths to victory, lots of different things you can do in the game, and it plays in such a short time that you can get multiple games in in one sitting.

 

 

 


Rum & Bones
pic2299556_lg
IMG_20150912_223854907Got to play this one again. As I said about it when I played on Wednesday, I really like Rum & Bones. It’s just a lot of fun, whether you win or lose.

This time we played 2 vs. 3, which felt about the same as the 2 vs. 2. I’d really like to try a 1 vs. 1 game, though. Having complete control over what I do would be great! Not that my teammate was bad, I rolled some really bad numbers, I just think it would be a good experience.


 

 

 

Eight-Minute Empire: Legends
pic1708628_lgEight-Minute Empire: Legends is a card-drafting, area-majority game where players attempt to move their minions around the empire, trying to take control of regions and islands. It plays 2-4 players and lasts about 15-30 minutes.

IMG_20150912_234001839This was my second time playing Eight-Minute Empire: Legends, and I really like it. As I said about Tikal above, I’m not great with strategy for area majority games, but this one offers other options for scoring points, like collecting the most elixirs or cards that give you points for having different types of cards. It’s really fun and I’d love to play again.

 

 

 

Carcassonne
pic2337577_lgCarcassonne is a tile-placement game where players build roads, cities and fields, and place meeples on them to score points. It plays 2-5 players and lasts about 30-45 minutes (without expansions).

IMG_20150913_241910028Carcassonne was the very first game that got me interested in tabletop games. It was the first designer board game I ever bought, even before I knew how vast the world of board games was. It holds a special place in my heart and it’s still a great game, even today.

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Board Game, Card Games, Meetup, Tabletop Games. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Played Last Week (9/7/2015 – 9/13/2015)

  1. Jobby says:

    I like the your format for your roundup: good ratio of text vs. images. Nice to see someone playing some of the older games and not just all the new Kickstarter stuff! Oh, and some more obscure titles – Kachina? I thought I was the only person who owned that! 🙂

    BTW Get the Giant Squid expansion for Survive! It’s really good fun as the squid and whales battle it out!

    Like

    • The imperial Settler says:

      Yeah, I picked up Kachina on a whim, cuz it was only like $8 on Amazon. I really love it!

      I don’t play Survive often enough to justify getting the Squid, but I would like to try it if I get the chance.

      Like

Leave a Reply

