First Impressions – Evolution

pic2558560_lg

Evolution is a strategic card game designed by Dominic Crapuchettes, Dmitry Knorre and Sergey Machin.

Evolution is a very neat game. Essentially you are creating new animal species and hoping to keep them alive. If they’re alive at the end of the round, they feed and any food they eat becomes victory points at the end of the game. But food isn’t always available for everyone.

IMG_20150821_201807211

What makes Evolution really interesting are the trait cards. You play traits onto your species to give them special abilities. All species start as herbivores, which only eat plant food from the watering hole, but if you give a species the “Carnivorous” trait, they become carnivores, which feed on other species (yours or your opponents). Other traits might get your more plant food, or increase your species population. There’s a ton of different traits in the game, and the traits are where most of the strategy of the game comes in.

IMG_20150821_211058323_HDR

In addition to the traits, you need to manage each of your species body size and population size. A bigger population means they eat more food, which scores you more points at the end of the game. A bigger body size means less carnivores can prey on them.

I really enjoyed my first game of Evolution and I can’t wait to play it again, or even own it! I love how it could have been a game with player elimination, but they chose not to go that route, I love how there’s some conflict, but it’s not drenched in conflict. I love how different each trait is, and trying to find a good combination of traits for my species. It’s just an overall really good game.

 

About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Tabletop Games, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Impressions – Evolution

  1. GaryBoyd says:

    This is a game I’m very interested in picking up at some point. The cover is new isn’t it? I think I rather liked the old one better. But in any case I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

