What I Played Last Week (8/10/15 – 8/16/2015)

Last Week was pretty good for gaming. I went to a meetup, I hosted a game night (although only 1 person showed up). I had fun last week. Here’s a breakdown of what I played.

Wednesday (8/12/2015):
If you saw my First Impressions posts, you already know some of the games I played last Wednesday, but if you didn’t, here they are again.

Viticulture
pic2619743_lgThis was my first time playing, and I have to say, I had a wonderful time with it. Viticulture is a fantastic worker-placement game about wine-making, and I’d love to play it again.

 

 

7 Wonders
pic860217_lgI hadn’t played this one in a long time and I wanted to play again so I brought my copy to the meetup. We played with the Leaders expansion, and everyone had a good time with it.

 

 

 

 

Jamaica
pic1502119_mdAfter hearing The Dice Tower speak highly of this game, I was very eager to try it out. I was not disappointed. It’s a very simple game to understand and play, but it’s very enjoyable. I like how you have to choose between 3 different cards, which might not always be ideal. It adds a level of strategy to it that I appreciate.

 

Ashes: Rise of the Phoenixborn
pic2479679I brought this one at the request of a fellow gamer. We only had an hour to learn and play the game, but we still managed 2 full games in. I really enjoy this one, and he did too, so it’s good to know I will be able to play it with someone. I’d love to play more and I’m excited to start deckbuilding.

 

 

 

 

Saturday (8/15/15):
Saturday I hosted a game day at my house, and, unfortunately, all but one guest had to cancel. But we still had a pretty good time. My mom joined us for a few games.

Stockpile
pic2258055_lgThis is one of my recent favorites and I’m really happy I Kickstarted it. It’s fast and plays smoothly, but it’s always fun. I feel like in the 2-player game, the players have a little bit too much information, but it’s still really enjoyable. I ended up winning with the most money I’ve ever had in the game, $310,000.

 

 

 

Havok & Hijinks
pic1894733This is a game I Kickstarted a while back, when I was a little bit more careless with Kickstarter. Luckily, this isn’t too bad of a game. I hadn’t played it in a while before last Saturday, and I realized that it’s not a favorite of mine, a little too take-that for my taste.

 

 

 

 

Catan
pic268839Before this time, it had been quite a while since I played Settlers last. This time I realized that I really don’t like the game anymore. I hate the rule about discarding half your cards, I hate waiting turn after turn after turn doing nothing because I’m not getting the resources I need. I just don’t like it anymore. I still appreciate it for getting me into the hobby, but I will not be playing again anytime soon.

 

Box Cover Art taken from http://boardgamegeek.com without permission. If you are the owner of the image and would like me to remove it, please let me know.
About The imperial Settler

I love board gaming! I would do it every day if I could.
This entry was posted in Tabletop Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Played Last Week (8/10/15 – 8/16/2015)

  1. GaryBoyd says:

    While I enjoy viticulture I do find it a bit swingy. The right card combination can really set a player off and bad card draws can really be damning. Other than that no real complaints. I love the production and the gameplay. I’ve been thinking about getting the Tuscany expansion just for solo play.

    Like

Leave a Reply

